Melancholy before exhibitions

A feeling of sadness often arrives in that time between stopping work on a drawing and putting it on show. I think it has something to do with things stopping. For now, there being no more creativity. For now, there will be no more change. For now, things stay as they are. Things will feel good again once the work is on show. Then, the drawings come back to life in a new way.

I’ve just sent my drawing to the RBSA Gallery for the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists Drawing Prize Exhibition. I’m looking forward to seeing all the drawings. I’m also looking forward to having that experience of seeing my own drawing as a slightly different thing from what it was before. It’s exciting.

The Royal Birmingham Society of Artists Drawing Prize Exhibition 2023 runs from 5th September to 15th October at the RBSA Gallery, 4 Brook Street, St Paul’s Square, Birmingham, B3 1SA.

Leave a comment