Life Drawing at Margate Adult Education Centre

Demonstration drawings from my Life Drawing classes

I teach Life Drawing at the Margate Adult Education Centre. I love it. I love teaching Drawing and I love the building. room I teach in has been in use as a Life Room continuously since the 1930s, which is when the building opened as the Thanet School of Art. There is a photograph of the room, presumably taken in 1932, which shows the Drawing tutor, Bernard Willis, teaching a Portrait Drawing class. In the centre of the room is a large wooden dais on which a student sits whilst her classmates draw her. Some of the students can be seen sitting on wooden boxes. I doubt if that dais has ever left that room, and those wooden boxes are still there too; they make a gorgeous sound when you tap them!   

The people I teach here have a wide range of ambitions for their drawing and a wide range of previous levels of experience. Some are practicing Artists, with degrees and MAs, whilst others might call themselves beginners (not a term I would ever use when it comes to Drawing). Sessions normally include a mix of short drawing exercises and demonstrations, and long and short drawings where I can offer one-to-one tuition. Occasionally I get to teach whole-day workshops which run from 10am until 3:30 or 4pm. People often travel long distances to attend these.

If you’d like to come to any of these classes, you can book a place via the Kent Adult Education website. You can find the courses I teach by typing my name into the Kent Adult Education website search box. I’ve included a link to the site (below). Please note that the course descriptions tend to be a little generic as I don’t write them. Have a look at my other posts about Life Drawing to get an idea of how I think about Drawing and about teaching.

By the way, I’ll also be teaching at Draw Brighton in the autumn. Keep an eye out for that or visit their website. I hope to be teaching other Life Drawing courses too and so do come back to this blog or visit my Instagram page to find out about them.

Hopefully, I’ll see some of you at the Life Drawing!

Link to my Kent Adult Education Life Drawing courses: https://www.kentadulteducation.co.uk/tutors/roy-eastland/

Leave a comment