Moving into my new studio in Margate

I have decided to rent a studio in Margate. It has been on my mind for a while to try and get hold of a studio where I could feel comfortable inviting people to see my work. I would also like to be able to draw people from life and even run small scale Drawing classes. This has not been possible in my workspace at home. Long story short: I have taken the plunge and signed the contract to take on the studio for at least six months. It is both exciting and strange to be ‘moving in’ to a new workspace.

A few things have come together at the same time to nudge me to make this decision. One is my ongoing frustration at not being able to invite people to my studio, another is my frustration at not drawing people from life often enough, and another is the encouragement and support of an old friend. Just as I started looking into the availability of artists’ studios in Thanet, I saw that this one had become available.

Of course, I dithered and worried about the practicalities and I imagined various kinds of catastrophic outcomes (I am good at doing that), but I knew in my heart that this was a good decision to make. A text conversation and a cup of tea and a slice of cake in a nearby café was enough of an extra push that I needed to say yes to taking on the studio.

Anyway, I’ve had the studio since Saturday and I’m moving things into it each day. I don’t drive and so I’m getting a lot of exercise carrying things back and forth between home and studio and making trips to B&Q and to Scott’s (a nearby second-hand shop) to buy things for the studio. Still, and me being me, I can’t help feeling like a bit of fraud – like I’m not really a proper artist. This is my default, self-belief, setting. Perhaps working from this new studio will cure me of this. Hm, probably not.

So, As I continue to adjust to my new setting, ideas and half-plans are coming to mind about how I will use this space. Just now, the place looks quite spartan. The only artworks I am allowing into the room are the ones I have done since collecting the keys. Currently, there is a line of A4 Life Drawings along two of the walls and a small plaster head which I have been carving. I have a few of my books and catalogues on Drawing on a small bookcase in the corner. Other than that, there is an easel, paper, drawing boards and some art materials. It’s all very much in a state of flux. It feels good.     

   

5 Comments

  1. Wonderful news, Roy. I hope it will give you renewed inspiration, and just make your work easier in a practical sense. James

  2. Hi Roy, Congratulations and best wishes for your new space. It looks like it has history in spades!! I have emailed and messaged you on Instagram about availability of your work and look forward to your reply! Warm regards, Matt

    1. Thank you Matt! Yes, I am interested in selling some drawings. Sorry for the delay in responding to your email, I’ll try and get back you soon. Things have been a bit hectic lately, but I hope to have more time after Friday (sorry, I didn’t see the Instagram message). Yes, I am keen to offer some Life Drawings to sell. Thank you for your interest! Thanks! Roy

      1. Roy, thanks for your response, that’s great. Take your time, I too just got a new studio and it’s an exciting but very busy period so I completely get it. I look forward to hearing from you whenever you’re ready. Best wishes, Matt

Leave a comment